Tuesday, 6 March 2012

If you like Short Stories - Jenny Twist

One of the things I really enjoy is reading and writing short fiction. Here, to celebrate READ AN EBOOK WEEK, are my anthologies.

Take One At Bedtime

Nobody ever goes upstairs in Margaret’s house. So what is making the strange thumping noises up there? And why is there a toy rabbit under the kitchen table?
Margaret’s Ghost is just one of a collection of short stories consisting mainly of horror and science fiction, ranging from a classic gothic tale – Jack Trevellyn – to the Wyndhamesque Victim of Fortune, and the modern Waiting for Daddy, with its spine-chilling twist.
There is also the occasional excursion into romance with A Castle in Spain and Jess’s Girl.
But most of these tales take you to a place which is not quite as it seems.
It’s bedtime now. Time to go upstairs. Time to take a look.
Just one look.
WARNING: Do not exceed the stated dose.

Published by Melange Books 23rd April 2011– Editors’ Pick. http://www.melange-books.com/

Available on Amazon and Kindle


Spellbound 2011



Uncle Vernon by Jenny Twist
There's something very peculiar about Uncle Vernon. Nobody knows what he does in the cellar. But he's quite harmless, really. Isn't he? Isn't he?
Published by Melange Books October 31, 2011
Available on Amazon and Kindle


Warm Christmas Wishes


Jamey and the Alien by Jenny Twist
Jamey only wants one thing for Christmas. He wants his Daddy to come home. But first he has to kill the alien. 

Uncle Albert's Christmas by Jenny Twist
Elaine loves managing people. The only problem is, she usually makes their lives a misery. So Uncle Albert is in despair when she invites him for Christmas. But Albert's neighbour has other ideas. Could it be that Elaine has met her match?
Published by Melange Books December 6, 2011

Available on Amazon and Kindle


Winter Wonders
Mantequero by Jenny Twist
Nobody had ever wanted to kiss June until she met her holiday romance.
Ignacio couldn’t get enough of her, though. But was it just kisses he wanted?
Or did he have a more sinister purpose?

Published by Whimsical Publications, LLC December 12th 2011
Available on Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Winter-Wonders-Anthology-Jenny-Twist/dp/1936167662/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpi_2




24 comments:

Lindsay Townsend said...

I think short stories are enjoying a renaissance at the moment, Jenny, with ebooks and ipads.

These sound a thrilling collection!

Criss said...

All your books looks great Jenny! I'm so enjoying Read A Ebook Week! I happen to love short stories.

Jenny Twist said...

Hi Criss. I'm so glad there are people out there who love short stories

Linda Swift said...

Hi Jenny and Lindsay,
As an author of short stories that are not romance either, we have something in common. I'm glad they are enjoying a revival. Your stories sound wonderful and I wish you much success. Linda

Jenny Twist said...

Hello, Linda
How lovely to meet you. I'm so glad you like the sound of my stories. I'll be keeping an eye out for yours!

Cheryl Pierson said...

Hi Jenny,
I love anthologies and have participated in several with Victory Tales Press. I have a new short story out just this week, Jason's Angel, that had actually appeared in an anthology earlier (last year) and is now selling as a single-sell for .99. If anyone is interested in my short stories and anthologies you can go here:
Cheryl's Amazon Author Page:
https://www.amazon.com/author/cherylpierson
Your stories sound right up my alley and the anthologies look great.
Cheryl

Vicki Batman, said...

I had to stop because I write funny, short romantic fiction and it isn't often people blog about this topic. I believe more and more people are becoming interested in this for a nice quick read. Thanks for posting!!!

Linda Acaster said...

I agree with Vicki, it's not often people blog about short fiction, but it lends itself to so much, not least that morning/evening commute where there's only elbow room for a smartphone screen.

Short fiction can also convey as much emotional impact as novel-length. Look how many movies have come out of short fiction.

Good for you, Jenny. Keep it up.

LK Hunsaker said...

I'm also glad shorts are making a comeback. So far I only have a few up as free reads at Smashwords but I have thoughts of an anthology or two in the works.

Good luck with your shorts, Jenny!

Savanna Kougar said...

Short fiction is enjoying a renaissance and it's all good! Continued success, Jenny.

Tara Fox Hall said...

I love your short stories, Jenny. They always leave me wanting more!

Jenny Twist said...

Hello Cheryl
Another new friend! And lover of short stories, to boot! Isn't wonderful that we can issue them now as single sells.
I'll go and have a look at your page in a minute.
Love
Jenny
xx

Jenny Twist said...

Hello Cheryl
Another new friend! And lover of short stories, to boot! Isn't wonderful that we can issue them now as single sells.
I'll go and have a look at your page in a minute.
Love
Jenny
xx

Jenny Twist said...

Hello Cheryl
Another new friend! And lover of short stories, to boot! Isn't wonderful that we can issue them now as single sells.
I'll go and have a look at your page in a minute.
Love
Jenny
xx

Jenny Twist said...

Hi Vicki
I am told that short fiction is making a comeback. I certainly hope so. I love both reading and writing it.
So nice to meet you
Love Jenny

Jenny Twist said...

Hello Linda
I am so pleased you left a comment. I enjoy your short stories so much. And I agree with everything you say regarding their emotional impact. Not to mention the film possibilities!

Jenny Twist said...

Hello LK
I do think you should issue your short stories as an anthology. It's so nice to have a whole book with your name on the front!

Jenny Twist said...

Thanks, Savanna
I hope you're right!

Jenny Twist said...

You are so nice to know, Tara. I love your stories, too.

Jenny Twist said...

Just realized I missed your comment, Lindsay. Duh!
Thank you so much. You are always so supportive and I love your site
Love
Jenny
x

Nora Weston said...

I love short stories, and yours are some of the best I've read. Take One at Bed Time...great! I'm looking forward to reading more of your work.

Have a lovely day, Jenny! :)

Jenny Twist said...

Thank you so much, Nora. You are so kind to me.

Sarah J. McNeal said...

You have such wonderful covers and interesting stories, Jenny. Sorry about being so late.

Jenny Twist said...

Sarah, it is always a pleasure to speak to you, no matter how late. Thank you so much for your lovely comments